On The Move

S. Bruce Binder appointed interim chair of Family Medicine

S. Bruce Binder, M.D., Ph.D., has been appointed interim chair of the Department of Family Medicine, effective April 1, 2017. A faculty member since 1991, Binder is an associate professor of family medicine with the medical school.

Binder helped establish and directed the school’s Skills Assessment and Training Center, which serves medical students throughout all four years of medical school. He also directs the Introduction to Clinical Medicine courses, which help first- and second-year students hone clinical skills while building relationships with patients and providing effective, compassionate care. He serves as medical director and is a provider for a free clinic in Xenia, Ohio.

Binder has won the Teaching Excellence Award three times. He was one of four faculty members who helped bring the Healer’s Art program to the Boonshoft School of Medicine. For many years, he directed the Family Medicine Clerkship and was pre-doctoral director in the department. Binder chaired the Faculty Curriculum Committee for 18 years.

Binder earned his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Virginia Medical School as part of the National Institutes of Health Medical Scientist Training Program and completed a residency in family practice at St. Elizabeth Medical Center in Dayton.

Wright State Physicians names Kimberly Paul chief executive officer

Kimberly Paul, M.H.A., has been named CEO of Wright State Physicians (WSP) beginning April 1, 2017. Paul has served as chief operating officer of WSP since 2016. Previously, Paul assisted the Departments of Surgery and Geriatrics, as well as numerous other departments over the years as business administrator.

Paul began her career with Columbus Children’s Hospital, which is now known as Nationwide Children’s Hospital, in Columbus, Ohio. She served the hospital in several roles, including director of operations for the Center for Child and Family Advocacy, project manager for planning and business development, payor contract manager, and managed care specialist.

Paul is a leader in the community and serves on the Dayton Clinical Oncology Program Board of Directors and Michael’s House Child Advocacy Center Board of Directors. She is a member of the Association of Academic Surgical Administrators and the Medical Group Management Association.

A graduate of Ohio University, Paul earned a Master of Health Administration and a Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences.

Daniel L. Swagerty Jr. named professor and chair of geriatrics

Daniel L. Swagerty Jr., M.D., has been named professor and chair of the Department of Geriatrics at Wright State University, effective April 1, 2017.  Swagerty served as the associate chair for geriatric medicine and palliative care, Department of Family Medicine, and director of clinical geriatrics for the University of Kansas Medical Center. As the associate director for the Landon Center on Aging, he directed a wide range of geriatric medicine and palliative care education programs for medical and interprofessional learners.

He is a past president of AMDA — The Society for Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medicine and founded its International Special Interest Group. In addition, he has served in various leadership roles focused on advancing geriatric medical education through the American Geriatrics Society, including being an active member of its International Special Interest Group.

His professional focus in recent years has been on improving the systems of care for institutional and non-institutional long-term care residents, especially in regards to improving their palliative and end-of-life care.

Swagerty earned his M.D. degree from the University of Kansas, where he completed his family medicine residency and geriatric medicine fellowship training. He obtained his graduate degree in public health from the University of Kansas.

Mary Pat Thomas named director of the Power of Nursing

The Remen Institute for the Study of Health and Illness (RISHI) at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine has named Mary Pat Thomas director of the Power of Nursing, effective Dec. 5, 2016.

Thomas has extensive clinical experience in hospital nursing and transformational leadership. She retired from Premier Health’s Learning Institute in December 2015 as the clinical nursing educator for OB/women services. Since then, she served as adjunct consultant with Creative Health Care Management Transforming Cultures Through Relationships. As a facilitator, coach, and mentor for new facilitators of its Re-Igniting the Spirit of Caring, Thomas focuses on creating an environment that allows participants to discover what matters most in caring for self, colleagues, patients, and their families.

Jerome Yaklic appointed president of Wright State Physicians

Jerome Yaklic, M.D., M.B.A., FACOG, has been appointed president of Wright State Physicians, effective April 1, 2017. Yaklic has also been appointed associate dean of Clinical Affairs for the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Yaklic has successfully served as chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology for five years and as a member of the Wright State Physicians Board and Management Committee. He has been a full-time faculty member in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology since 2006, where he served as medical director for Wright State Physicians Women’s Health Care. Yaklic is also a medical staff member and medical director of the Miami Valley Hospital/Five Rivers Health Center for Women’s Health.

Yaklic came to Wright State in 2010 from Bad Axe, Michigan, where he operated a private practice in the small, rural community for a decade. During his time in Bad Axe, Yaklic held several positions within local hospitals, including chief of staff at Huron Medical Center. Yaklic also served in the U.S. Air Force at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base and was a part-time member of the faculty at the medical school from 1996-2000.

Yaklic received his Doctor of Medicine from Wayne State University, where he completed a residency in obstetrics and gynecology. He holds an M.B.A. from Wright State University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *