Callahan speaks at Ohio Statehouse

Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine student spoke at the Choose Ohio First 2017 Scholar Showcase on April 17 at the Ohio Statehouse Atrium in Columbus about her journey to medical school.

Kara Yutzy Callahan, a fourth-year medical student, received a $30,000 Primary Care Medical Student Choose Ohio First Scholarship for the 2016–2017 academic year. She was one of four Boonshoft School of Medicine students who received the scholarship that academic year.

As a recipient of the scholarship, Callahan was asked to speak at the event, a celebration of the Choose Ohio First initiative, which is in its ninth year. Students can receive Choose Ohio First scholarships for their studies in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM).

Scholarship recipients must be Ohio residents. They must show a commitment to community service. They also must commit to a residency in family medicine, primary care internal medicine, primary care pediatrics or geriatrics. After completing the residency, each recipient must agree to practice full time in Ohio for at least three years in primary care (family medicine, internal medicine, pediatrics or geriatrics). As primary care physicians, they must serve Medicaid patients.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *